VOGONS

First post, by TBJ

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi all,

I am new to C++ coding so please bear with me (lifelong BASIC/VB/.NET developer). I'm trying to modify the DOSBOX source to implement file locking - obviously the trapping of the function is already done in the Int21H handler (function 5c) , I am just trying to make it actually lock the file (I am trying to make an old accounting package run in DOSBOX which requires file locking). Once I've got it all together I will of course post the source, not that there will be much of it.

Basically I am just wondering if anyone can give me any pointers on how, inside the Int21H handler function, I can get the C++ internal file handle for a file so I can call C's Lock() function. I know that I can get the DOS_FILE object corresponding to the open file by doing something like:

Files[RealHandle(Reg_BX)]

I am doing all this from memory so it might not be 100% accurate.

All I need to do is get the C++ file handle to the file so I can lock it. Has anyone got any suggestions?

Cheers and thanks for writing a great piece of software 😁

Reply 1 of 8, by ripsaw8080

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Maybe look at something like DOS_ReadFile() in dos_files.cpp for an example of making sure the handle is valid and so forth. DOSBox uses methods on the file[handle] object for things like reading, writing, and seeking, because there are different drive types (local files, image, etc.) but you might get away with a hack that assumes local file access if you don't want to go so far as making a lock/unlock method for all drive types.

Reply 2 of 8, by Qbix

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

you might be able to get a C FILE* pointer, but no C++ file stuff.

I wrote file locking a while ago. but it only worked with programs written in BASIC. not sure which version.
It even worked with sharing files between multiple computers with partial and full locks.