VOGONS


Problems with several old demos

Topic actions

First post, by DemoLover

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Ok, I hope one of the developers reads this sooner or later.
I tried to run the following demos but they either crashed or had problems:
1. Into The Shadow:
Just as it starts to run I get a whole pile of messages like this:
----------------------------------------
Write <memory address> to rom at <offset address>
...
Exit to error: CPU: GRP5: Illegal call 7
----------------------------------------
I used to watch this demo when I was kid on my brother's 486, it was really cool. If you want to find it online just go and type itsdemo.zip in google, you'll find links of it on pouet.net's ftp servers even.

2. I ran the demo Panic by Future Crew, and everything was perfect. But right after the 'Beast Head' logo DosBox seems to crash. I don't know if that is the end of the demo or it's near the end but I'm sure that Dosbox doesn't exit the application properly.

3. I also ran the demo Unreal by Future crew and everything was perfect but the vector balls section. Dosbox just draws some scattered pixels on the top of screen for that section.

I bet if you look into these problems, you'll probably fix alot of other bugs as well.
To the developers: Thanks for this great emulator. It brought back alot of memories 😀.

btw, I've attached the demos to this post in case you can trust me 😁.

Attachments

  • Filename
    itsdemo.zip
    File size
    3.43 MiB
    Downloads
    346 downloads
    File comment
    Into The Shadow by Triton
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    Panic.zip
    File size
    906.26 KiB
    Downloads
    266 downloads
    File comment
    Panic demo by Future crew
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    unreal11.zip
    File size
    1.28 MiB
    Downloads
    293 downloads
    File comment
    Unreal demo by Future crew
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 1 of 32, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

What operating system are you on? And what dosbox version
did you use?

2nd reality is picky about the path, try something like
D:\2NDREAL or a shorter/longer one. It should work completely,
especially those flying balls.

Reply 2 of 32, by DemoLover

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I'm on Windows XP Pro and I have DosBox 0.63. And I didn't mention any problems with 2nd reality 😁. 2nd reality and it's patch + their suggested dosbox config works perfectly. Nothing's wrong with that.
It's 'Into the shadow by Triton' and 'Panic' and 'Unreal' by 'Future Crew' that's got problem(s).

Reply 6 of 32, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Mixed 2nd reality and unreal demos, sorry 😉

Into The Shadow requires strickt segment limits, dosbox ignores
those limits completely. Don't think this will ever be added
as it greatly decreases all kinds of memory access.
Thus they'll overwrite a lot of memory (callbacks) and crash.
Otherwise it seems to run fine, maybe i can put up a modified
dosbox compile if you want.

Panic doesn't work in the CVS because of a timer irq loop
(gets stuck, but this part seems to work in 0.63).

Reply 7 of 32, by Qbix

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

panic seems to loose track of the vretrace

it doesn't like the dstroy fix for the timers

Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!

Reply 9 of 32, by Qbix

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

yeah. I figured that much out
if you change the mode back to pit[latch]mode then it works as well although it doesn't make much sense.
It doesn't mind the deactivate part which dstroy wants
So We can fix it, although I don't understand the fix totally

Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!

Reply 10 of 32, by Qbix

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

this fixes panic

Index: timer.cpp
===================================================================
RCS file: /cvsroot/dosbox/dosbox/src/hardware/timer.cpp,v
retrieving revision 1.34
diff -u -r1.34 timer.cpp
--- timer.cpp 9 Feb 2006 11:47:49 -0000 1.34
+++ timer.cpp 26 Feb 2006 14:07:09 -0000
@@ -224,7 +224,12 @@
pit[latch].read_state = (val >> 4) & 0x03;
pit[latch].write_state = (val >> 4) & 0x03;
Bit8u mode = (val >> 1) & 0x07;
+ if (mode > 5)
+ mode -= 4; //6,7 become 2 and 3
+
/* Don't set it directly so counter_output uses the old mode */
+ /* That's theory. It breaks panic. So set it here again */
+ if(!pit[latch].mode) pit[latch].mode = mode;

/* If the line goes from low to up => generate irq.
* ( BUT needs to stay up until acknowlegded by the cpu!!! therefore: )
@@ -234,8 +239,6 @@
* counter_output tells if the current counter is high or low
* So actually a mode 2 timer enables and disables irq al the time. (not handled) */

- if (mode > 5)
- mode -= 4; //6,7 become 2 and 3
if (latch == 0) {
PIC_RemoveEvents(PIT0_Event);
if (!counter_output(0) && mode)

Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!

Reply 11 of 32, by DemoLover

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Okay, I guess I'm back after a long absense 😀
I tried both gulikoza and ykhwong's release and here's the results:

- Unreal is now fully functional. The vector balls reminded me of alot of Amiga demos 😀.
- Panic now stalls at panic logo screen 🙁.

And if it's not much trouble for you see if you can do a little release for 'Into the Shadow.' And I also wonder if any other similar DOS apps try to access the memory that way (like Into the shadow). Generally I wish I knew how the unprotected mode + the old x86 processors worked in detail. System programming has always been my long lost dream 😁.

Reply 12 of 32, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Never seen any game that uses it, but ITS has a more or less valid
reason to do this (vesa bank switching).

> Generally I wish I knew how the unprotected mode

In this case it's plain protected mode which has configurable segment limits.

Reply 13 of 32, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

The attached build should be able to run Into the Shadows
with the normal core and the dynamic core. It shouldn't be
used otherwise.
If you're missing some dlls, try to get them from
www.dll-files.com or somewhere else (sdl from some other
dosbox release should work fine).

Please let me know if something doesn't work (or if it works 😀 )

Attachments

  • Filename
    dosbox_its.rar
    File size
    454.51 KiB
    Downloads
    352 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
Last edited by wd on 2006-03-03, 21:08. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 14 of 32, by DemoLover

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hmmm, it says the program cannot run because the application configuration is incorrect. Any hints?
Thanks alot for the build btw 😀. If this works, I'm going to keep this release. I wonder if a DOSBox 'protected mode' version would be a good major side release with DOSBox itself. 😜

Reply 15 of 32, by wd

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Hm, maybe those msvc optimizations were too much. Maybe
i'll compile it with an older version.

> I wonder if a DOSBox 'protected mode' version would be a good major
> side release with DOSBox itself

Dosbox fully supports the protected mode, just segment limits are
ignored because of speed reasons.

Reply 17 of 32, by DemoLover

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Tried again... same error, different form. It says
-----------------
'C:\program files\Dosbox-0.63\dosbox.exe'
This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem'.
-----------------

Now just to make sure I'm doing this right, I copied over everything from dosbox_its.rar in my Dosbox directory, even overwrote the SDL.dll (which I thought shouldn't be needed if the versions are the same.)
I have NO service pack installed and I have Win XP pro.
My CPU is p4 2.4 GHZ and I have 512 ram.
It may be also important to note that I have MS Visual Studio 2003 .NET installed as well.
btw, do you think packing Dosbox is really necessary? 😜
I don't mind if the executable is 100 ks or 3.0 megs 😁. I just want to it to work 😀.

Reply 19 of 32, by Reckless

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

You have *no* service packs installed and run Windows XP?!?! May I recommend downloading SP2 then the 50-100MB of updates available from Windows Update when you're next online!

I downloaded the DOSBox version attached and the ITS demo. Startup took around 5 seconds are discovering the soundcard. With a cycles count of approx 15000 (Pentium-M 2Ghz) and a completely standard DOSBox config (just ran the downloaded exe) it ran fine for me.