VOGONS

Common searches

Complete Noob Needs Help

Topic actions

First post, by darkhawk30

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I'm trying to run IBM's Quest for Fame (circa 1995) on my Windows XP system. Someone recommended Dosbox to me, but I have absolutely no idea what it does, how it operates or whatnot. I don't know if any of you folks have had experience with this game, but it's the one that you use a Virtual Pick with.

Windows Compatibility Wizard doesn't work, because during the installation I get a "You do not have Dos 6.2" message and then the installation quits out.

Anybody have any suggestions or something that can point me in the right direction or something with clearer instruction would be much appreciated. Thanks guys.

Reply 1 of 26, by eL_PuSHeR

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I wish I had an euro everytime i hear something like "Complete newbie needs help.... I don't know how to run DosBox, etc ..."
Anyway, the first two things you must do are ...

1st) Read the documentation. As suggested, use the HELP and INTRO commands under DosBox. You know how MS-DOS commands work, don't you?

2nd) Use the SEARCH option in this same forums (forii?) to see if someone has already asked the same question. Thus, we avoid to be answering the same questions over and over.

I didn't mean to sound rude, but i'm a little fed up of people asking the same thing every two posts.

EDIT: Just a suggestion. It would be better imho, that you would state the title you want to run in the POST TITLE, something like I WANT TO RUN GAME XXX, it would make things easier to find.

Reply 2 of 26, by darkhawk30

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Then I make a suggestion as to make a tutorial with a sticky that explains in detail how to run various emulators, etc. That would make it easier than looking around hoping to find little bits of information that I could possibly use, maybe.

I'm sorry, but the documentation with Dosbox is not clear at all. Read it up and down.